I know some really cool authors. You should, too.

It’s summer reading time! I’m dying to know what’s on everyone’s list. I’m also thrilled, thrilled to have some recos for you. If you haven’t yet read Playdate, by my friend Thelma Adams, then get it. It’s a smart send-up of suburbia, a in intimate look into the secret life of the stay-at-home dad, an honest account of parenting and marriage. So go get it. Now. And don’t just take my word for it. O The Oprah Magazine put it on the list of it’s must-read beach books. And if you haven’t heard me crow about my talented cousin Erica S. Perl, now is your moment. Her new book, When Life Gives You OJ, for kids ages 8-12 (and those of us who are, at heart, that age, or parents of kids that age) promises to be a touching, funny take on inter-generational family life, exploring one summer in the life of a Jewish girl in Vermont, her desire to own a dog, and her relationship with her eccentric grandfather. My Big Guy (almost eight) and I are fighting over who gets to read that one first. We’ve loved every one of her picture books, and I devoured her YA novel, Vintage Veronica (all featured on her webiste, linked above). So go get ’em. And let me (and my pals here) know what you think of their books. Post your summer reads in my comments section, too!

2 comments

  1. Audrey Brashich · June 10, 2011

    Thanks for posting these suggestions! I just finished The Violets of March by Sarah Jio. READ IT!

    Like

  2. Bari Nan · June 10, 2011

    Sweet! XO

    Like

Leave a Reply

